Unsere Geschichte – k'amo

Unsere Geschichte

Alles begann im Jahr 2011 als ich das erste Mal für Ferien nach Guatemala ging. Ich verliebte mich sofort in das Land. Die schöne Natur mit den Vulkanen und den Stränden, die immer lachenden und fröhlichen Leute, die Geschichte und die verschiedenen Kulturen, inklusive die der Maya mit Ihren 24 verschiedenen Sprachen. Und so kam es, dass ich dann in 2013 definitiv ins schöne Guate zog.

Schon zu Beginn bemerkte ich die farbigen Trachten der indigenen Frauen welche sie noch heute von Hand machen. Faden um Faden ohne jegliche Maschinen. Aus diesem Grund ist jede Tracht absolut einzigartig. Die schönen Muster und die typisch leuchtenden Farben stimmen einen sofort fröhlich und bringen ein lächeln ins Gesicht ☺

Im 2015, dachten sich Irina und ich, dass es wunderbar wäre wenn wir diese schönen handgearbeiteten Stoffe den Menschen ausserhalb Guatemala zeigen könnten. Und so begannen wir einige Designs und Vorlagen auszuarbeiten, und erstellten die ersten Produkte. Da Handarbeit eine lange Tradition in Guatemala hat und seit Generationen weitergereicht wird, konnten wir auf grosse Erfahrung und qualitativ hochwertiges Material zählen.

Zurzeit sind verschieden guatemaltekische Schneider für uns tätig. Und wir arbeiten mit diversen Huipil Lieferanten zusammen. Nachdem unsere Produkte die Qualitätskontrolle durchlaufen haben, finden diese ihren Weg zu ihrem neuen Besitzer.

k’amo garantiert den Kunden, dass wir ausschliesslich bestes Material verwenden. Vom Leder das wir verarbeiten bis zu den farbenfrohen handgemachten Huipiles welche unsere Produkte schmücken.

Fredy Alt
Gründer & Besitzer von k’amo

Leave a message
close slider

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Contact reason

Your Message (required)


GET 15% OFF

WHEN YOU JOIN OUR MAILING LIST, PLUS MORE OFFERS ON THE GO
Name
Email address
All information collected will be treated confidentially, and never passed to third parties. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Our story

Everything began in 2011 as I went the first time for vacation to Guatemala. I instantly fell in love with the country. The beautiful nature with its volcanoes and beaches, the always smiling and joyful people, its history and the different cultures, including the Mayans with its 24 different languages. And so, finally in 2013, I decided to move to wonderful Guate.

Since the beginning, I noticed the colorful dresses of the indigenous women which they still today make by hand, thread by thread, without any machines. Therefore each piece is unique. Their characteristic colors shine with brightness, and build together a beautiful fabric that instantly spreads the happiness into your soul.

In 2015, Irina and I decided that it would be a great thing if we could introduce the people outside of Guatemala to its wonderful handcrafted products. We began to make different designs for a few products, and started with our first items. As handcrafting has been a long tradition in Guatemala and is done for generations, we could rely on great experience and high quality fabric.

Currently, we work in association with an experienced Guatemalan tailor. After the products are finished and passed our quality control, every unique piece finds its final way to its new owner.

k’amo guarantees our customers original and high quality material. From the leather we use, to the handmade huipiles that paint with bright colors our many product lines.

Fredy Alt
Founder & owner of k’amo

Leave a message
close slider

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Contact reason

Your Message (required)

[recaptcha]

GET 15% OFF

WHEN YOU JOIN OUR MAILING LIST, PLUS MORE OFFERS ON THE GO
Name
Email address
Secure and Spam free...
0

Your Cart